HCC STEM Departments

HCC district is composed of six major campuses – Central, Southwest, Northwest, Southeast, Northeast and Coleman.  
The STEM administration is centralized with Deans, Chairs and Associated Chairs whose offices are located at specific campuses.

Following is the contact information for the administartion and their departments. Feel free to consult with them if you have questions regarding your STEM education and career. Counselors at each college may also help you while you are at HCC or if you are planning to transfer.

Deans/Directors in STEM Area

Dean of Earth, Life & Natural Sciences

Dr. Jerome Drain
SW - Stafford
#LHUB 206
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-6140
jerome.drain@hccs.edu

Acting Director of Engineering Center of Excellence

Ms. Susan Thompson
Engineering Center of Excellence
NW - Katy Campus
Room 340-D
713-718-5451
susan.thompson@hccs.edu

Dean of Mathematics

Mr. Tim Sever
SE Campus
Room 101, Angela Morales Bldg
713-718-6453
timor.sever@hccs.edu

Biology

Chair

Dr. Tom Loesch
Rm S113, Scarcella Bldg
10041 Stafford Road
Stafford, TX 77477
ph: 713-718-7775
tom.loesch@hccs.edu

Associate Chairs

Dr. Beverly Perry
Central Campus
Rm LHSB 402, 1300 Holman
ph: 713-718-8048
beverly.perry@hccs.edu

Dr. Shadi Kilani
NW Campus
Rm 801, Spring Branch Campus
Rm C410, Alief Campus
ph: 713-718-7035
shadi.kilani@hccs.edu

Dr. DaeJan Grigsby
NE Campus
Rm 114, Pinemont Center
ph: 713-718-7149
daejan.grigsby@hccs.edu

Dr. Anna Koshy
SW Campus
Rm E121, Scarcella Center
ph: 713-718-5659
anna.koshy@hccs.edu

Chemistry

Chair

Dr. Emmanuel Ewane
NW - Spring Branch Campus
Suite 200 901-A
713-718-5414
emmanuel.ewane@hccs.edu

Associate Chair

Dr. Paul Clemens
SW - West Loop Campus
Room 231
713-718-2479
paul.clemens@hccs.edu

Physics, Astronomy, Geology, Horticulture

Chair

Dr. Kumela Tafa
Central Campus
LHSB 402
1300 Holman
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-5569
kumela.tafa@hccs.edu

Associate Chair

Dr. Christina Del Cerro
SW - Stafford Campus
Room E120
Scarcella Building
Houston, TX    77087
ph: 713-718-7773
christina.garciadelcerro@hccs.edu

Mathematics

Chair

Dr. Jaime Hernandez
SW - Stafford Campus
Room N108, Scarcella Bldg.
713-718-7772
jaime.hernandez@hccs.edu

Associate Chairs

Mr. Ernest Lowery
NW - Katy Campus
Room 112A
1550 Foxlake Dr.
Houston, TX 77084
713-718-5512
ernest.lowery@hccs.edu

Mr. Mahmoud Basharat
NE - Codwell Campus
Room 105
713-718-2538
mahmoud.basharat@hccs.edu

Mr. Roderick McBane
Central Campus
Room 364, SJAC Bldg
roderick.mcbane@hccs.edu

Engineering

Director

Dr. Bart Sheinberg
West Houston Center of Science & Engineering
2811 Hayes Road
Houston, TX 77082
ph: 713-718-5617
bart.sheinberg@hccs.edu

Ms. Susan Thompson
Engineering Center of Excellence
NW - Katy Campus
Room 340-D
713-718-5451
susan.thompson@hccs.edu