STEM Contact Information

HCC STEM Departments

HCC district is composed of six major campuses – Central, Southwest, Northwest, Southeast, Northeast and Coleman.  

The STEM administration is centralized with Deans, Chairs and Associated Chairs whose offices are located at specific campuses.

Following is the contact information for the administration and their departments. Feel free to consult with them if you have questions regarding your STEM education and career. Counselors at each college may also help you while you are at HCC or if you are planning to transfer.

Deans for STEM

Dean of Life and Natural Sciences

Tosha Barclay
SW - Stafford
#LHUB 207
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-6140


Dean of Engineering Center of Excellence

John Vasselli
Engineering Center of Excellence
HCC Alief Campus
Room A420
2811 Hayes Road, Houston, 77082


Dean of Mathematics

Mr. Tim Sever
SE Campus
Room 101, Angela Morales Bldg




Dr. Shadi Kilani
Rm S113, Scarcella Bldg
10041 Stafford Road
Stafford, TX 77477
ph: 713-718-7035 


Associate Chairs

Dr. Gizelle Davis
NE Campus
Rm 227, 555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013
ph: 713-718-6949 

Dr.  Tom Loesch
NW Campus
Rm 319, West Houston Institute
Rm 801, Spring Branch Campus
ph: 713-718-7340

Dr. Chukwuemeka Onyewuchi Opara
Central & Coleman Campuses
Rm LHSB 402, 1300 Holman 
Houston, Tx 77004
ph: 713-718-5249 

Dr. Anna Koshy
SE Campus
Room 124.2B, Felix Morales Bldg
6815 Rustic Street
Houston, Texas 77087
ph: 713-718-5659




Dr. Grace Zoorob
Chemistry Dept office
NW Campus
Room 329, West Houston Institute (WHI)
2811 Hayes Road
Houston, Texas 77082


Associate Chair

Dr. Jyothi Singh
SW campus


Natural Sciences


Cyril O. Anoka
Natural Sciences (Physics/Astronomy/Geology/Horticulture/Technical Mathematics)
NW - Spring Branch Campus
1010 W. Sam Houston Parkway N.
Houston, TX 77043
ph: 713-718-5638



Associate Chair

Dr. Kumela Tafa
Central Campus
LHSB 402
1300 Holman
Houston, TX 77004
ph: 713-718-5569 




Mr. Mahmoud Basharat
SW - Stafford Campus
Room N108, Scarcella Bldg.
Cash Road, Stafford, TX


Associate Chairs

Dr. Jaime Hernandez
Central Campus
Rm. 369, San Jacinto Building
1300 Holman Street
Houston, TX 77004

Mr. Hien Nguyen
NE - Codwell Campus
Room 105, Codwell Hall
555 Community College Drive
Houston, TX 77013


Dr. Susan Fife
NW - Katy Campus
22910 Colonial Parkway
Katy, Texas 77493